Jose “Joe” Berrios

Jose “Joe” Berrios brings four decades of experience as an educator to his first term on the Victor Valley Union High School District Board of Trustees. Berrios taught physical education, health, reading and independent study in the district for 37 years. He also spent years as a football and wrestling coach, serving as an assistant coach on the 1987 state championship Victor Valley High wrestling team. A 38-year resident of the area, he served as the Victor Valley Teachers Association president for five years. 

Caleb Castaneda

Caleb Castaneda serves as the Board Vice President and is the newest member of the Board of Trustees, joining the board after a special election in the fall of 2019. He is a philosophy professor at both Victor Valley College and Chaffey College. He attended Pitzer College and earned his graduate degree from Claremont Graduate University. He has lived in Victorville since 2012.

Barbara Dew

Barbara Dew is a 55-year resident of the Victor Valley and 1966 Victor Valley High School graduate who has long been an involved member of her community. She is a retired elementary school teacher with more than 30 years of service to education in addition to her long service with legislative agencies at the county and state levels. She won reelection to the board in 2016.

Penny Edmiston

Penny Edmiston is a 28-year resident of the Victor Valley, coming to the area not long after graduating from Arizona State University. She currently serves as the Board Clerk. She has dedicated her life to education as a longtime elementary school teacher, teaching grades 3-6 in the Victor Elementary School District. She joined the Victor Valley Union High School District Board of Trustees in 2014 and was reelected in 2018.

Joshua Garcia

Joshua Garcia, serves as the Board President and is a Victor Valley High School graduate and longtime local resident.  He was elected to the board 2018, replacing Timothy Norton. Mr. Garcia has devoted his life to education and currently teaches at Riverside Preparatory School.