Special Election Results

Castaneda sworn in; Edmiston is new President
Posted on 11/06/2019
VICTORVILLE — Caleb Castaneda was sworn in Dec. 12 as the newest member of the Victor Valley Union High School District Board of Trustees after winning a special election in November.

At the same meeting, the board named Penny Edmiston President, Barbara Dew Vice President and Joshua Garcia Clerk. Jose Berrios ended his term as President but remains on the board.

Castaneda brings the board back to five members for the first time in roughly 10 months. He received 49.49 percent of the vote, while Lisa Crosby garnered 32.25 percent and Margaret Cooker received 18.27 percent. The special election covered Area 2 of the five-area district.  

Castaneda fills the seat vacated by Timothy Hauk, who resigned in February after winning the regular election last fall (Cooker finished second in that race). The board was unable to come to a consensus on an appointee after Cooker, Crosby and Tommy Babajian applied for the position this past spring, which led to the special election.

Castaneda will serve the remainder of Hauk's term, which ends in the fall of 2022. 
  • Victor Valley Adult School