Homeless Assistance/ McKinney Vento Homeless Assistance Act

Homeless children have access to the education and other services that they need to
ensure that they have an opportunity to meet the same challenging State student
academic achievement standards to which all students are held.

The McKinney-Vento Act defines homeless children and youth as individuals who lack a
fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence. The term includes Children who are:

● sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship,
or a similar reason;
● living in motels, hotels, or camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate
accommodations;
● living in emergency or transitional shelters;
● Children and youth who have a primary nighttime residence that is a public or
private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping
accommodation for human beings; or
● Children and youth who are living in cars, parks, public spaces, abandoned
buildings, substandard housing, bus or train stations, or similar settings.

It is crucial that we are able to accurately identify our students in these scenarios in
order to offer support which include but is not limited to enrollment support,
transportation, food, clothing, technology assistance (including devices and internet),
academic support, and staff support.
 

Please contact Victor Valley Union High School District’s liaisons if you have any questions.

District Homeless Liaison:
Tiffany Hampton
thampton@vvuhsd.org
(760) 955-3201 x10426

Rachel Storch
rstorch@vvuhsd.org
(760) 955-3201 x10429

Diana Chapero
dchapero@vvuhsd.org
(760) 955 -3201 x10916

 

County Homeless Liaison:
Brenda Dowdy
Homeless Education Project Manager
(909) 386-2757
 
State Coordinator for the McKinney-Vento Homeless:
Leanne Wheeler
State Coordinator
(866) 856-8214

School Site Homeless Liaisons:

Adelanto

Natalie Garcia

Mental Health Clinician

nagarcia@vvuhsd.org

CIMS

Amber Bettley

Mental Health Clinician

abettley@vvuhsd.org

Goodwill

Marsadez Troupe

Mental Health Clinician

mtroupe@vvuhsd.org

Hook

Caroline Reyna

Mental Health Clinician

creyna@vvuhsd.org

Lakeview

Helena Sjullie

Mental Health Clinician

hsjullie@vvuhsd.org

Larrea

Quiana Roberts

Mental Health Clinician

qroberts@vvuhsd.org

Silverado

Nyree Watson

Mental Health Clinician

nwatson@vvuhsd.org

UP

Edna Rodriguez

Mental Health Clinician

erodriguez@vvuhsd.org

Victor

Amber Massie

Mental Health Clinician

amassie@vvuhsd.org